The Final Countdown.

Tuesday 11 March 2014- the final day of the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro.

A very, very long, busy day, working from 6.30am till 7.30pm, and I have completed my internship, and it was a ridiculous amount of fun!

The Organisers were determined to finish the competition today, and we did, crowning Stephanie Gilmore the 2014 Roxy Pro champion, and Gabriel Medina 2014 Quiksilver Pro Champion. It was definitely an exciting afternoon, the crowed was enormous and the atmosphere was incredible! And we were right in the middle amongst it!

I had a lot of interviews to get through! With so many heats on in the one day, today was non stop! We continued our rotation and worked together to ensure every heat was covered, and all the photos being uploaded were constantly tagged and a caption typed up. We were certainly busy, but I loved it and sad it has come to a close.

Wednesday the 12th of March was back to reality. Back to University and back to our everyday jobs (that do not include hot surfer boys and working on the beach). My body clock is still set to 5am and my summer glow achieved from the past two weeks is looking brown.

It was for sure, the best internship I could have done. A lot of work, and always busy, but so much fun, and amazing people to work with! I couldn’t have imagined doing it without Alex and Tegan, who after 2 weeks of spending everyday together, its hard not to become good friends. And our Media Team, Will and Amy, I will certainly miss them too! So friendly helpful, welcoming and encouraging, not sure if we could have got a better media team to work with.

The final day was, exhausting, to say the least! But I am definitely going to miss driving from Southport to Coolangatta everyday, early wake ups, yummy breakfast and lunch, late finishes, 8pm nights in bed and spending everyday by the beach!

It was the most incredible experience. I learnt So much and know it will definitely benefit me in the future and gaining further work experience down the track.

photo

groupphoto

Group Photo: Amy, Me, Tegan, Alex and Will

Leave a comment